Joy and Wedding Bells

Standard

Look at those faces. They were babies. Little wee ones, and that’s how I remember them. When I look up suddenly, or a wedding ring on a left finger catches my eye and makes me lose my breath, I have to face the reality that these children are all grown up.

Grown up and married and no longer our babies. (Oh, but who am I kidding? Your children always stay your babies, right?)

Wedding bells rang this weekend, and my heart sputters every time I think of the joy I felt and still feel. You always hear that when your children are happy, you’ll be too. Maybe that was it. Or maybe it was just the excitement of the event. All I know is when I stepped into that church, the energy overwhelmed me. Smiling faces and piercing love swallowed me whole.

Family and friends brought that love, mixed in with the love of God I felt in our beautiful old church, and it was amazing.

Trey and Shelby are starting a life together, a life I pray has more joy than sadness, more hope than loss. Some sweet soul asked me about them over the weekend, and I admitted that they loved fiercely one minute but sometimes argued like brothers and sisters the next. The woman smiled and said, “That means they’re best friends, too.” And they are. Sometimes in a marriage, you need a best friend almost as much as you need a partner.

Even now, I’m weepy. Bill is too. So if you see us remember someone’s kind words and get misty-eyed, just know our emotions have been on a rollercoaster of gratitude and joy. And if a mushy song comes on the radio, especially one from the reception, and we blubber like babies, we’re okay! Just two sappy, getting older, grateful souls.

Thank you for the love. For every single one of you who hugged us, or said a kind word, or sent a smile and a wink; to every single person who said ‘I love you’ and helped us set up, clean up, dig out, and put away – thank you for your kindness and support. We adore you all!

Leave a comment