Stress

Standard

If there was an award for stress eating, I’d be your champion.  Like the gold medal, first place winner.  For instance, our adopt-a-school sponsor, the wonderful Johnson Controls, gave us a goody basket of supplies for back to school. Nestled inside was a jar of jelly beans…the really good kind you get at Easter…and I ate every single one of them in probably fifteen minutes flat.  Told ya…first place for sure.  

Back to school is the ultimate stress inducer, as in there is no worse month in the month of teaching than August.    New students, new personalities, new schedules, new everything.  And as much as I hate to admit it, I stress eat like a crazy lady.  Not good things either.  Stress eating hits at non-meal times when I’m weak and shaky…at times when only a snack will do.  Things like M&M’s and Smarties and dark chocolate.  Not good, I know.  

I’m hoping this week will be better and the marathon snacking will subside.  We’re entering week three, day ten of this new year.  My class is sweet and eager, hard-working and interesting, and I’m anxious to see how far they will progress.  If we can survive August, we can do anything.

So as I prepare for another week, I’m asking a huge favor.  Please pray for the children and for the teachers.  Pray for us and how we deal with our stress.  We all don’t handle it the same, and goodness knows we’re all just looking for a way to survive the moment.  Some chew nails, others cry, some rant.  I eat candy.  

And that is my confession.

Told you they were interesting!

Leave a Reply

