The Beatles

Standard

Dear Sir or Madam, will you read my book?
It took me years to write, will you take a look?
It’s based on a novel by a man named Lear
And I need a job, so I want to be a paperback writer
Paperback writer –

The Beatles

When I was a little girl in the early part of the 70’s, I was a huge fan of The Monkees, along with Donny and Marie and Scooby Doo.  I listened to The Monkees on my orange and white 45 record player.  From an early age, I remember having records and albums in my room.  I spent hours listening to music while sporting posters of Donny and Marie over my bed.

Momma and Daddy always encouraged me to listen to The Beatles but I would have none of it.  I mean, The Monkees had their own T.V. show…and it was funny…and The Monkees had Davy Jones…and he made a guest appearance on The Brady Bunch.  The Monkees won my attention hands down.

I grew up, my taste in music changed, and as an adult I still never really paid much attention to The Beatles.  I appreciated them immensely, don’t get me wrong, but I still didn’t quite love them.

This past weekend, as I sat in an over-the-counter-cold-medicine-fog, I fell in love with The Beatles for the first time.   Watching their 50 years in America special, hearing other artists belt out their songs, I was taken aback by words.  Words I’ve not paid attention to before.  And their words snagged my soul.

I found myself lost in George Harrison’s While My Guitar Gently Weeps.  Absolutely beautiful and a tad haunting.

I was also amazed at Ringo’s vitality and his yearning to still be noticed (he would pat his chest and tell the world…that was me, I did that).  And Sir Paul is still Sir Paul.  How a group of very young, very talented men came together, changed the face of music, and managed to disband by the time they were thirty is amazing.

I’m intrigued, and I may watch the re-play of the T.V. special again tonight!

Who was your favorite Beatle and why?  What is your favorite Beatle song?  (Mine is George, and it’s a toss up between In My Life and Paper Back Writer!)

Leave a Reply

