Puppies

Standard

My son recently brought home a new puppy.  A tiny, furry, very cute Labrador puppy.  Yes, I said Labrador.  Lord help us.  The last Lab we owned was in the 1990’s.  It managed to chew the siding off our house, yank all the wiring from underneath my husband’s truck, and swallow whole walnuts – which ended up requiring emergency surgery.

To say the least, I’m hoping we have a better experience with this dog.

Sadie, the new puppy.  Isn't she cute?  Her name should've been Miss Pee's A lot.

Sadie, the new puppy. Isn’t she cute? Her name should’ve been Miss Pees A lot.

This makes our third dog.  One inside dog, two outside dogs.  But here’s the catch – it’s too cold to let the dogs sleep outside at night, and we have to “potty-train” the pup.  Nights at my house have become very interesting, to say the least.  Four-legged creatures, all different sizes, wrestling in a pile on my once new living room carpet.  Beanie, the sweetest but smelliest mutt you’ve ever seen, knows no personal boundaries.  She is in your face, stinky or not.  Layla, my pampered indoor princess, is appalled at the presence of other dogs in her house, and the puppy…oh the puppy.  Sadie runs, she pees, she runs, she sleeps, she pees.  All within thirty minutes.

My princess, Layla.  She's spoiled, and I couldn't help it.

My princess, Layla. She’s spoiled, and I couldn’t help it.

My new carpet is no longer new.

What I have discovered…since before two years ago I was not a dog person, or an animal person for that matter…is that these dogs all have personalities.  Like people.  And it’s fascinating to me.  They are all so distinct in their behaviors and mannerisms.

If only they weren’t so messy.  And if only my carpet wasn’t new.

Beanie, the outside dog who wants to be an inside dog so bed.

Beanie, the outside dog who wants to be an inside dog so bad.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

