Lilacs in Bloom

Standard

My travel itch has been scratched, re-scratched, and has now rolled over and begged for mercy.  As of last night at 8:00, we have traveled around 2,800 hundred miles this month.  My husband and I arrived home last night from a five-day trip to Mackinac Island, Michigan.  It took us 13 hours each way (by car), but my oh my, it was worth it!

We arrived on the island Saturday night and were instantly greeted by the sweet blend of lilacs blooming all over the island.  Living in Tennessee, we don’t see many lilac bushes and never have we seen such an abundance of lilacs in one place.

IMG_1046

There was something about the lilacs…something beyond their sweetness.  They were delicate and serene, bold and sure.  One bush on the island is said to be at least 150 years old.  An incredible strength must live in its roots and limbs if it can survive cold Michigan winters, one after the other.

The Grand Hotel is peeking out from behind this lilac bush.

The Grand Hotel is peeking out from behind this lilac bush.

I fell in love with Mackinac Island the first time I visited thirteen years ago, and this visit only solidified my love for this unique patch of earth.  Another visitor on the island put it into words – “You either get it or you don’t.”  You either love it or you leave it with respect.  Others may love the beach and yearn to visit yearly, others may yearn for the desert of the southwest, while others may only need the mountains.  For me, this island calls to me like no other place ever has or ever will.  It whispers to me, pulls on my soul, as if it’s welcoming me home each time I’m there.  In some strange way, I feel home when I’m there.  Explain that one to me…

Soaking in the sun on the highest point of the island - Fort Holmes.

Soaking in the sun on the highest point of the island – Fort Holmes.

What makes Mackinac Island so-o-o special is my hubby loves it as much as I do.  When I become obsessed with need to visit the island, he may roll his eyes but in the end, he always comes through.  When we’re there together, we get it.  ‘You either get it or you don’t’ – well, we get it.  We love it and we love it together.  There’s nothing more special than being able to share that love.

Another joy of the trip was getting to meet one my favorite bloggers.  Bree blogs about the island twice a week and keeps us island lovers connected and happy.

Another joy of the trip was getting to meet one of my favorite bloggers. Bree blogs about the island twice a week and keeps us island lovers connected and happy.

And yes, I got to see the beautiful red geraniums on the porch of the Grand while I was there!

And yes, I got to see the beautiful red geraniums on the porch of the Grand while I was there!

My heart is full and thankful.  I pray that every person has a special place they can escape to, wherever the place may be.  I pray that everyone has a chance to connect to the earth and hear it calling to you.

Leave a Reply

