It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas…Sort Of

Standard

Well, the tree is up, the lights are strung, the ornaments are hung.  Hallelujah!  It’s only the beginning of what needs to be accomplished in December, but it is a wonderful start.  A few presents have been purchased and will soon…(well, maybe not too soon)…be wrapped and stashed under the tree.

The nativity scene is waiting to be set, the stockings are far from being hung, and who knows if the Christmas china will even make an appearance this year.  Instead, I’m looking for a deeper, warmer Christmas.  I asked my son what ‘one’ thing meant something to him at Christmas time, which tradition, and I got a 16-year-old-I-dunno-shrug . I’ve been thinking and here’s what I want to make sure happens even if nothing else does:

I want to watch the movie Christmas Vacation with a blanket tucked over my legs and a bowl of popcorn in my lap.  The refrigerator will be stocked with fresh oranges and tiny bottled Cokes.  Peanut brittle and King Leo candy canes will be on the kitchen countertop.  I’ll listen to the choir sing carols at church, read a little Dickens, dip pretzels in chocolate, and do my very best to think of others each and every day.

Which holiday tradition is a must for you?

Leave a Reply

