Upsetify

Standard

One of my students was in Guidance, and during the class, they discussed feelings. The teacher said all of the other children were calling out feelings like sad, happy, etc., then one little fellow hollered out “Upsetify” as his feeling.  He made up a new word, and I kinda like it. 

Please don’t upsetify me.  It upsetifies me for you to not laugh at my jokes.  Let’s not upsetify our daily routine and my life.

Fun new word. 

What is sad, however, is that this young boy lives an upsetified life.  He’s been abandoned before, been sexually abused, takes medication every day, and is currently living with dad, mother, and stepmother – all in one house.   No wonder he feels upsetified.  Bless him.

There are so many things in life that can upsetify us – work, children, losing loved ones.  I believe it’s how we handle all of those things that show our true colors.  Some of us douce the pain with alcohol, some of us hide from other people and become bitter and rigid, while some of us rise above the pain of life and keep moving forward.  I strive to be the person who rises above, the person who doesn’t become bitter and weighed down by the unexpected.  And yes, it’s an every day journey, a journey to strive to be the person you want to be, while at the same time letting go of what you know is no longer healthy.

A friend of my son posted this on Facebook a while back:  “When life gives you dilemmas, make dilemmanaide.”

One response »

  1. I like the word upsetify, too, Traci. It would be funny if the boy’s circumstances weren’t so sad. … Do you make up words with your children? Our son is no longer here to play along, but my husband and I still get the giggles from mangling words and inventing new ones.

Leave a Reply

