Happy Halloween

Standard

“Hold on, man.  We don’t go anywhere with “scary,” “spooky,” “haunted,” or “forbidden” in the title.”  From Scooby Doo

It’s Halloween, and who doesn’t adore the cute little costumes, the bright purple, orange and black decorations, the candy corn, which they’ve just announced has like 140 calories for 7 pieces (how is that possible and what does it mean if I eat at least that number plus another 50?).  The cutesy side of Halloween is…well, it’s cute, but that’s the only side I like.  There are no horror movie marathons for me – no Jason or Freddie or Michael.  Maybe Casper and maybe Scooby and Shaggy.  That’s about all my system can manage. 

My children are too big for Halloween so now I soak in all my Halloween fun with my niece and nephew.  That is after, of course, a day with first graders.  Whew…shouldn’t Halloween be relegated to weekends only?  I know…the thirty-first is the day, but school and sugar-hyped children just don’t mix.  The sugar-high will last for days, by the way.  Days and days! 

For the Halloween lovers, Boo-Screech-Howl!  For the sissy’s like me, worry not about the caloric count of candy corn.  Instead, think of Junie B. Jones (the precocious little girl from the Junie B. Jones children’s book series ) who discovers that, strangely enough, candy corn is not made out of corn at all!   Oh, the horror!

My Spooks – Halloween 2001

Leave a Reply

