Autumn

Standard

The leaves waved goodbye to me today as I walked in the crisp, autumn air.  Dry and weak, some waved from their branches telling me so long.  Others held on with a burst of color, but even they have so little time left.  Fall can be beautiful, but still, it can be melancholy.  I’ll miss the color, the thickness covering the tree limbs.  I’ll miss the leaves that whisper in the wind as I walk.

Tennessee brings beauty during every season, so even as the leaves whisper goodbye, there’s a promise of what yet is to come.  Spring will return.  New leaves will grow and the trees will be full again. I look forward to that day, but for now, goodbye pretty little ones.

Leave a Reply

